The Journey Continues

The next step in my jewelery making journey was learning the art of chain mail.

Each individual pattern is commonly known as either a stitch, or a weave.

By looking in beading magazines I’ve learned a fair bit. In one particular magazine there was an advertisement for Beadworx. (a fabulous bead shop at Harbour Town Shopping Center on the Gold Coast) In the ad they had a picture of a bracelet I figured I could make myself.
I gave it a try and lo-and-behold I did it.

I also had inspiration from Sue of Enchained Treasures. She does amazing chain mail in coloured wire. Anyway, she pushed me to try something a little harder.

I bought another beading magazine a while later and learned Dog Ear stitch in no time.

This is a close up of Dog Ear Stitch.

The finished piece.

From there I have learned about 5 different stitches, and there are so many more to learn.

Probably the most difficult to master was Dragon Scale. It took me 3-4 months of failure before I finally got it.

Dragon Scale Choker

The stitch I am most proud of would have to be the Round Mail. Mainly because I have never seen any stitch like it on any of the chain mail websites. So I believe I have invented the stitch myself. (I may be wrong but I’ll live in my fantasy world while I can)

Round Mail made for Marianne de Pierres

 

You get the picture.

This takes us up to 2009.

The last 12 months have been quite eventful… but I’ll leave that for another blog.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Apr 12, 2010 @ 20:36:51

    That one you made for Marianne is GORGEOUS! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Bec
    Apr 12, 2010 @ 21:19:54

    Wow! You’re one talented woman. Beautiful designs, Belinda 🙂

    Reply

  3. Belinda's Baubles
    Apr 14, 2010 @ 07:07:18

    Thanks ladies. 🙂

    Reply

  4. mdepierres
    Apr 16, 2010 @ 13:03:50

    Yup, clever girl.

    Reply

  5. Susan
    May 29, 2011 @ 11:59:00

    Hey Belinda! I had never seen this blog post before! Thanks for the mention! Funny, with all the chain mail I’ve done over the years I have never Done the “Dog Ear Weave”. Goes to show you can always learn something new. And there IS a stitch called roundmaille but I can’t see the detail in yours to see if it’s a similiar weave. I stil lreally love your work!

    PS: I have a blog on here too..how do I add yours to a list or something? lol I dont know what I’m doing yet…

    Reply

    • Belinda's Baubles
      May 29, 2011 @ 13:56:53

      The way I do my stitch I start with a regular chain then do 2 by 2 encasing the chain, and then layer the outside. I have better close up photos of what the stitch looks like… I’ll have to find them on the other computer. Keep an eye out in future blogs. You can also subscribe to my blog with the little doobywacker at the top of the page.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Burn Bright Banner

