Long Restful Weekends

It’s not often people really impact your life. Dr. Phil says we only have under 10 influential people in our entire lives.

I spent ANZAC day catching up with one of THE most influential people in my life.

As a kid I was bullied mercilessly because I looked different. I can remember Mum being told by the school headmaster that I needed to work harder at fitting in. Look at me… do you really think there is any way in hell I would ‘fit in’ anywhere? (well besides at a Clarke family reunion.)

Anyways. Grade 5 saw a change in the school administration and Mrs. Lewis took the role of Deputy Principal.

I think it took her less than a month… perhaps not even a week to get those bullies to pull their heads in.

She single-handedly did what my parents hadn’t been able to do. She taught me I was worthy. I had a right to be happy and I deserved to have friends.

The most wonderful moment of the day was showing her my jewelery, and her showing me some of hers.

I tell you, she does some breath-taking pieces, and she is hard pressed keeping up with demand… which, looking at the pendants she showed me, is completely understandable.

I picked her brain and she picked mine.

We also found time to wish my Mother in law a very happy ’21st’.

I think yesterday was the most fun I’ve had in quite a while.

Hubby and I

Hubby and I

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Deb Brown
    Jun 03, 2010 @ 03:37:45

    Hi Bel, its Deb from school. I’ve had a crappy sleep , its a bit past 3 in the morning, and I am wide awake and can’t go back to sleep!! so I thought I know what I can do!!! you guessed it, so I checked out your site!! I was most impressed!! well done! and the jewellery all looks beautiful!! also loved the photos of you and hubby!!!! and enjoyed reading your entries!! keep up the good work Bel, see ya at school love and hugs Deb xoxxooxoxoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Burn Bright Banner

