I seee the light

Hubby has been at me for over a year to pick a light shade for the naked light bulb in my study/ work room / dump. So when he was stuck for how to kill the last few dollars on his gift voucher for bunnings, (Big Hardware store) he’d earned by getting employee of the month, he dragged me kicking and screaming to the light fitting display aisles.

After having to pick one for our room (which looked great in the box and on the fake ceiling in the store… looks bloody awful in our room) I never wanted to have the stress of the task again.

Luckily, I thought like a man this day. I said to myself “Look Belinda, just pick the first freakin’ one you see, make a big oooh aaaah over it and that’ll do. If it looks crap just don’t look up and use the LED desklamps instead.”

So the first one we saw is literally PERFECT!  See…

New Light Shade. Pretty huh?

It’s got beads alllllll over it. Has purple ones too. AND on those days when I’m trying extra hard to avoid housework I can hang sun catchers from the bottom of it to add my own layer of style.

 
This is what it does to the ceiling when the light’s on.

Awwwwwww.

 

 So the voucher got used, I got the light shade, hubby’s happy and I spend more time looking at the pretty purple roof now, than I do the computer screen.

I just have to pick the crap stuff up off the floor so I don’t trip over it when I’m walking around not watching where I’m going.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Que
    Aug 12, 2010 @ 00:22:13

    Yeah…. but how good is it with shadow puppets?

    Reply

  2. Lessian
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 16:07:43

    Lmao, my housemate is in the process of renovating a lamp to take that exact same shade! this is one of those ‘small world’ moments.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Burn Bright Banner

