Red it was

The Hair

The Red Dresses

We had a lovely evening. The kiddo was a little surprised that she was THE youngest person in the room. “Why is everyone so old?”

She was confused as to why the Opera singers kept going off stage, only to be called back on stage by the conductor to receive more applause.

She blushed when we were taken back stage for the meet and greet and the hunky Joshua Bloom told her she looked very pretty in her red dress.

I was cringing at my lack of culture when the only things I could think of when they were playing the William Tell Overture, was Bugs Bunny and Mum singing to me when I was a kid about to the dump to the dump to the dump dump dump.

Anyways i’ll write more when I don’t have Abba gold blasting my ear drums from the kiddo’s room.

*groan*

Hope the week has started off really well.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Margaret Mager
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 16:44:42

    Very glamorous. The kiddo’s face is cute too.

    Reply

  2. Cecilia
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 18:32:11

    love the flower power monster lol very pretty

    Reply

  3. bec
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 00:44:24

    Fantastic pics, Bel. I nearly fell off my chair when I read that bit about ‘to the dump…’. I thought my *Father* made that up!!!! I can’t wait to tell him that I’ve just discovered THE TRUTH: *other* families sang the very same, god-awful song. Ah, the good ol’ days, when we were happy with a trip to the tip!

    Reply

    • Belinda's Baubles
      Nov 16, 2010 @ 08:01:26

      Back in the days when if you were old enough you could go scout around to see what treasures you could find while the parents dealt with the rubbish.
      Been to the tip lately. It’s so clean. You have a separate entry from the garbage men, you back the car up and basically throw the refuse into an empty pit, which is cleared out regularly. The only satisfaction being the huge crash as that rotten TV (that died on you in the middle of the season finale of your favourite program) hits the concrete at the bottom of the pit.
      There’s not even that funky smell. Not worthy of an overture cover anymore.

      Reply

      • bec
        Nov 17, 2010 @ 21:32:01

        ‘Not worthy of an overture cover anymore’ (HAHAHA!). I’ve only been twice since the ‘new dump.’ My favourite activity is throwing glass bottles in a high arc into the pit & listening to the very satisfying smash. Paging Dr Freud.

    • Margaret Mager
      Nov 19, 2010 @ 15:56:19

      Bec, it originated in a realllllllyyyyy bad joke: Where did the Lone Ranger take his garbage? To the dump, to the dump, to the dump dump dump…..to tune of William Tell Overture/Lone Ranger theme.

      Reply

  4. Belinda's Baubles
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 09:14:26

    Destructive, but in a very ‘normal’ way.

    Reply

  5. Que
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 05:08:35

    I love your explanation of the Overture. I think it was perfect and showed a LOT of culture. I would have completely understood it. I guess with me saying that you are probably right. If I understood it there probably IS a lack of culture in it somewhere.

    Reply

  6. Belinda's Baubles
    Nov 21, 2010 @ 12:01:01

    On a much lighter note, the kiddo has completely stopped the impromptu Opera concerts in the backyard since this event. I think the neighbours say thank you as well Ma.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Burn Bright Banner

