Are we there yet???

Summer in Australia if you live with a guy (or girl) who is sport crazy means hours and hours and HOURS of cricket. Now I can think of far more pleasurable things than watching cricket. Most of which include blunt objects, wet paint, or the growth of grass.
Thing is this agony isn’t just exclusive to summer. No. when the cricket isn’t on its tennis, when its not tennis it’s football, when it’s not football it’s golf, and when it’s not any of those I’m sure channel 1 has some sporting event from over seas to bore you to tears.

I used to be a total sports nut, I was at home with a tennis racket in my hand, give me a spot on a soccer field, or a run up on a gymnastic mat, or a good beat in an aerobics square and I was there with bells on. Then I hit puberty and all my sporting activity lead to bad knees. I’m not much of a sideline sportsperson, so if I can’t be included I really don’t want to watch it.

But anyway back to my complaining about summer in Australia…

There is more to life than f***ing sport. I wish they would ban it for at least 2 full days a week. I don’t much care which two. I don’t even care if they’re consecutive days. I just want no mention of pigskin, sweat rash, broken pinky fingers, or ball technique for a ful 48 hours a week.

Oh and while I’m throwing a cat amongst the pigeons at the MCG and the SCG and the gabba and whatever other freaking fields I’ve been avoiding looking at since summer began, lets force these over paid athletes to get day jobs.
I’m sure Warnie wouldn’t be so keen to text his way into affair number 4000 if he has to be up at 6 for a 7am start on the job, and there wouldn’t be as many high-profile footballers being caught with their balls in their hands.

I’m a big meanie, and, I don’t care.

Excuse me while I organise an accident for the set-top box before the one day matches start.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cels
    Jan 06, 2011 @ 19:07:33

    LOL thats why I LOOOOOOOOOOOOVE my Hubby SOOOO much he couldn’t care less 🙂 But don’t get me started on a certain stupid PS3 game

    Reply

    • Belinda's Baubles
      Jan 07, 2011 @ 08:36:16

      Yeah of that I am grateful, ps3 is something I am glad he’s never bothered with, but i swear if he sings along with the barmy army one more time i’ll scream. Bad enough he made me sit through the dumb bird song episode of Family guy. Made me want to cut off my own ears.

      Reply

  2. Cels
    Jan 07, 2011 @ 18:19:41

    Just for you :

    Well everybody’s heard about the bird !
    Bird bird bird, the bird is the word !
    [repeat]

    Everybody’s heard about the bird !
    Bird bird bird, the bird is the word !
    [repeat]

    Don’t you know about the bird?
    Well everybody’s heard about the bird !

    Bird bird bird, the bird is the word !
    Bird bird bird, the bird is the word ! Yeah !

    Well everybody’s heard, about the bird !
    Na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na
    Na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na

    Everybody’s heard, about the bird !
    Na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na
    Na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na

    Everybody’s heard, about the bird !
    Everybody’s heard, about the bird !

    Don’t you know about the bird?
    Well everybody’s heard, about the bird !

    Bird bird bird, the bird is the word !
    Bird bird bird, the bird is the word ! Yeah!

    SURFIN’ BIRD!!!!

    Well everybody’s heard, about the bird !
    Bird bird bird, the bird is the word !
    Bird bird bird, the bird is the word !

    Well everybody’s heard, about the bird !
    Yeah everybody’s heard, about the bird !
    Everybody’s heard, about the bird !

    Na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na
    Na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na
    Na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na

    Don’t you know about the bird?
    Well everybody’s heard, about the bird !

    Bird bird bird, the bird is the word !
    Bird bird bird, the bird is the word ! Go!!
    (Claps)

    Everybody’s heard, about the bird !
    [Repeat 8 times]
    Yeah!!!

    Everybody’s heard about the bird !
    Everybody’s heard about … bird !

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Burn Bright Banner

