Swimming down Albert Street

Hubby was straining with cabin fever by 10am this morning. Like the vein in his head pulsing and the sweat starting to bead on his brow. There may or may not have been some rocking going on.
All I wanted today was some self-raising flour, half a dozen eggs and the sunday paper, so I would have been happy dashing between showers to the IGA (corner store) and grabbing said items.

Hubby on the other hand was thinking big. SO we hopped on a bus heading north. He made the mistake of asking the kiddo if she wanted to go to Garden City (fondly known as Garbo) or stay on the bus and head right to the end of the line into the Brisbane Central Business District. Needless to say we ended up in the CBD. Oy.

I am supposed to be trying to scrimp and save to pay for my new toy, the back to school expenses and the music program levy. Not to mention there’s a school camp on the cards and the Flute needed a service.

I was expecting to be a total cow, a stick in the mud and a kill joy. Instead I found a deck of Once Upon a time cards (and gave a huge squee making hubby pretend he didn’t know me). I found a couple of books I’ve been looking for for ages for $2. And a Steve Irwin book I have a feeling a friend may want to read. By the time we headed out of borders the rain was so bad it had backed the gutters up on Albert Street. I asked hubby to pick the kiddo up so her feet would stay dry thinking if his feet got wet I’d have less complaining to listen to. HAHAHAHAHA! Not likely. He stepped smack into the middle of the puddle. Squish. Squish. Squelch.

So my plans were shot to hell. We ended up wet, and we didn’t even remember to get the sunday paper.
Oh well, it’ll mean two more book reviews further down the line.

Time for me to go cook dinner.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Margaret Mager
    Jan 09, 2011 @ 19:16:45

    Cabin fever strikes. Looks like we might not even be able to get in to town tomorrow. High level bridge looking like it might go under. So much for knee replacement. Oh well…….

    Reply

    • Belinda's Baubles
      Jan 10, 2011 @ 08:08:21

      I’m surprised you didn’t find a hotel in the safe zone. Looks like it’ll be a while before the city center will be dry again. Stinky! Check Channel 7’s Sunrise. Grant is having to keep moving cause the flood waters are moving about a foot a minute.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Burn Bright Banner

