Team Turd Burger

Right excuse my typing. I am literally dead on my feet. And if hubby doesn’t go wash his hair I’m gonna cry. We smell like we’ve been playing in a pig sty.

There will be more indepth blogs to come but for now let me just say, Oh My Goodess!!!!

I’ve had two showers since I got home from helping the clean up in Ipswich with the help of ICA staff and other volunteers.

Hubby pitched in and I think it’s the first time in a REALLY long time we’ve worked together as a team for a common goal.

I have moved so much mud, helped clear a VERY clogged toilet (hence the team name) that had well and truly backed up, and thrown half a man’s livelyhood out onto the nature strip infront of his home.He was one of the lucky ones. I’ve mopped up anough water to fill, I reckon about 5 bathtubs, and tossed a heap of soggy carpet and underlay from another man’s house.

We watched the neighbours put their ENTIRE lives out the front of their houses which until about 24 hours ago were up to their ceilings with silty, shitty, stinky flood water.

I’ve heard stories from those who were trying to feed the evacuation centers with over a thousand people in them, only to be told by two major grocery chains, that the manager would be contacted on Monday, and they’d be notified if they were given the okay to donate food. Then another shopping center left their entire stock to be flooded in rather than trying to save some of it to give to the evacuation centers.

Congratulations go to IGA and Red Rooster for supplying a good amount of food for those displaced. Please support these businesses if you’re ever in Ipswich. They deserve the biggest of all pats on the back.

For now I’m going to go put the towel I just dried my hair with in the wash. It smells like flood.

The meadia seems to be covering Brisbane SO much. But there are so many people in Ipswich ( which they have made sound like a tiny county backwater town which it is not) who don’t have the 50 relatives knocking down their door to help out. They are by themselves. They have no idea where to start in the clean up. They are just so overwhelmed.

I need to sleep. I just don’t have the strength to crawl into bed.

Night!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Margaret Mager
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 22:07:21

    Well done to all of you. Wish I could help out too, but I’m cheering you on. Yay team!!!

    Reply

  2. Belinda's Baubles
    Jan 16, 2011 @ 06:49:12

    Thanks ma. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Burn Bright Banner

