Today will become tomorrow

I was sent on my way yesterday with well wishes I didn’t even know I’d been given until I logged onto one of the many sites I work with today.
They were telling me to be safe… I’d like to repost what I wrote in response.

“I am safe.
Contemplating getting a tetanus shot just to be extra safe. There were 2 sewage treatment plants along the Bremer river that would have washed into the flood waters. I don’t like needles or pain but I really think it might be a good idea.

I was just on clean up duty. I didn’t actually go near any running water except to rinse out the mop.

I have seen things in the last 48 hours I hope to NEVER see again, or smell again.
I learned just how heavy school desks get when they are water sodden.
I learned that flood waters are picky. They can lift and topple a washing machine it took 3 grown men to put in position, and yet will leave small flower pots exactly where they were.
I learned that buckets upside down will still hold water.
I was reaffirmed that if you do ever have a flood in your neighbourhood, remember to sand bag the toilets. EWWW!

It takes more than 2 showers, half a bottle of bodywash, plus antiseptic wash and shampoo to get the smell of flood mud off your body. I still smell.

Also it is just easier to throw away the clothing you got flood mud on. It stains like old blood and stinks to high heaven.

My life will never be the same again. I can not move forwards without being changed by the experience.
I want to cry for the horror of it all but it just seems wrong somehow.

I get to leave, to shower, to sleep in my own bed and hug my family. There are so many who don’t have any of that.
My uncle thinks they will never find out what happened to the baby they tried to help save who was half still strapped into her carseat when the flood waters took the car. There are some who will never be found.
And what do they talk about on the TV?? Approval ratings for the politicians.
It is all just wrong. So very, very wrong.”

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Margaret Mager
    Jan 16, 2011 @ 20:50:55

    Reminds us how beautiful and fragile life is. Tell those you love that you love them. Frequently. You never know when you part if you will ever see them again. Just a nice thought. As I was out today to buy some potatoes (yay, got some!) I was struck by the fragile beauty of the misty green shoots of grass appearing through the muddy residue left when the waters receded. Lovely promise for the future. I love you, my daughter.

    Reply

  2. Wendy
    Jan 18, 2011 @ 04:21:57

    I can’t believe this was just yesterday. I’m glad you are safe, and that you’re able to help others. And now I feel sick to my stomach thinking about the baby 😦 You’re awesome to be donating your time and help like this though!

    Reply

    • Belinda's Baubles
      Jan 18, 2011 @ 06:19:43

      If something like this happens near you, you’ll feel the pull to help. It’s not really anything special, it’s just instinctual.
      There are tragic stories like the baby all over Grantham and Toowoomba.
      There is so much left to be done, hope I will be able to continue to help.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Burn Bright Banner

