Over my dead body

Over at THE HOOPLA is a pov post by Wendy Harmer. (A very funny Aussie comedian and prolific author) In this post Wendy has her opinion on the tramp factor of girls clothing in Target stores across Australia; or at least the ones she shops at.

I want to broaden the focus to all stores and then have at it like a nasty dog munching on a bone.

Rewind to a few months ago when I was frantically trying to buy clothes for the kiddo to wear on camp. She had grown out of everything that would keep her warm and I was DESPERATE, frantic and when push come to shove, I had to just grimace and get on with it.

I don’t generally have hard and fast rules when clothes shopping for my daughter besides, ‘would a hooker wear this?‘ If the answer is a maybe or a yes, then the item of clothing stays on the rack. Which is great when you have all the time in the world because you have the wiggle room to take your sensible Mum mind and shop accordingly. When the school adds it’s guidelines to your shopping trip and you’re pushed for time, things get positively insane.

Shirts must have sleeves. ~my options of shirts with sleeves were, plain black ones (no thanks my kid has plenty of time to turn goth without my help), ones with lewd slogans (she is 10, I don’t necessarily want her wandering around with a shirt that reads ‘It’s all about ME!‘ on it), ones that may have had 2 sleeves… but one of them would never stay on her shoulder (Wham called they want their shit back).

black shirts it was *groan*

They were going to be doing high wire and ‘team building’ activities.

So NO SKIRTS. ~my options were Black 3/4 length leggings (black goes with everything, and the 80’s are back in style… okay I can mange this) –just don’t expect the kiddo to want to wear them– Jeans (these would be sensible and durable) –if only she’d wear them– and butt shorts (at these we both looked at each other and shook our heads. NO!)

black 3/4 leggings it was.

Then came the jumper debate. She has a football jacket that must have been brought up from the southern states, ’cause it’s properly warm. Not one of the regular Queensland winter jackets, ‘Oh you felt a breeze? Quick add a flannel shirt.‘ BS. We fought for 45 minutes to get that jacket put into the suitcase.

And the only ‘jumpers’ for sale in the stores were frigging ponchos. WTF! Seriously?

So if the big chain stores EVER had the guts to ask my opinion (HAHAHAHAHA!!! I know, I make me laugh too) I would tell them to think mix and match, think AGE APPROPRIATE and think about us poor bloody mothers trying to not turn our kids into tramps, hookers and 80’s rejects, and carry basic options as well as the trends, so we can have a choice to give our kids the childhood they should be getting, rather than this sexualised, paedophile driven crud they stock constantly now.

In an ideal world I would be able to walk into a store on any given day (or season) pick up some cute >whoops cute is a no no word< ahh… some “cool” grey track pants with a purple accent of a butterfly or a kitten or even a spider ~for those kids that aren’t into ‘cute’~  A matching shirt, and a zippered jacket to go with the track pants. Is it REALLY that hard to make kids not look like they’re mini adults?

I doubt it. I really truly do.

Vote with your purchases (when it’s possible) let these chains know that hoe chic is not okay.

And when push comes to shove, you have the last say.

OVER MY DEAD BODY!!!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Margaret Mager
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 19:26:09

    Go girl!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Burn Bright Banner

